Second Sleep

20120331-174258.jpg

Dear diary,

Mama makes me sleep two times when the sun is up. I sleep lots when the sun sleeps, of course, but when sun is awake mama makes me sleep two more times.

The first time is ok. It’s exhausting to wake up and talk to mama so much, and then to eat breakfast (diary, sometimes she even makes me feed MYSELF – can you believe that?) and after that I have to inventory my toys to make sure they’re all still there (especially the table gramma gave me for Christmas. I check for him first every day). So when mama brings me upstairs to the sleepy chair I don’t mind. I usually just put my head down and sleep.

But diary, the second time mama makes me sleep I try to charm her out of it. I do the same routine every day and I’m just sure that if I persevere then someday I’ll convince her. When she brings me to the sleepy chair I have a particular order in which I do things. Allow me to elaborate:

1) Vigorously kick feet so she knows I’m not really tired. Then lay my head on her chest.

2) Brush mama’s hair with my fingers. For some reason it gets stuck so I just pull until my fingers are free again. Mama often bends her head toward me when I do this, so I know she really likes it. Sometimes I try to adjust her glasses for her too but she doesn’t seem to enjoy that as much.

3) Do my patented Comedy Gopher routine. Lift my head up, grin really big, stick my tongue out at her, then flop my head back down on her chest. I like to repeat this step at least a half dozen times because I’m sure that in the end this is the one that will convince her I don’t need to sleep. Most days I get her to laugh at least once by doing this. I like to spice it up by sometimes blowing raspberries at her, testing out my new syllables, squealing with joy, and zerberting her chest. Every now and again I try to throw myself off her lap to freedom, too, but she doesn’t seem to be a big fan of that one. I don’t know why.

4) This is my last resort. When all else fails I yell at her. I flail a bit, and rub my face on her. I thought I had another step after this, diary, but often the next thing I know I’m waking up in my bed. That mama sure is tricky.

I continue to perform these steps every day when second sleep time arrives. I feel really confident that if I just do them enough she’ll have to agree with me and stop taking me to sleepy chair for second sleep.

Wide awake,
Finn

2 responses

  1. Ok Finn…. Here’s the deal. Mom’s like to have time for themselves (sometimes). It might be to get some ‘chores’ done (those are jobs that you should be glad you don’t have to do yet–just wait, Your day is coming). So. Sometimes the nap is your YOU, and sometimes It’s for mom. Be gentle on her. She means well.

    She’ll figure out that the battle is not worth continuing with and let you have one nap a day only. Soon, too. And, guess what? In a year or two, you won’t be napping at all. BUT! Be prepared for going to bed earlier, ‘cuz you WILL be tired.
    Consider these, “words of wisdom”. Many more to come.

    Love you…. Grammie

Leave a Reply

