The Invaders

Dear Diary,

I bet you thought you’d never hear from me again, huh? Figured that like so many others I’d started writing to you with the best of intentions and then thrown you aside for something more interesting or less brain intensive.

Au contraire, Diary. Au contraire.

What had happened was that I discovered those things mama was calling thunder thighs had the power to take me places. Diary, I learned to walk. And soon after, I learned to RUN. As you can imagine, priority had to be given to intensive investigation of my surroundings and methods for raising mama’s blood pressure; things like climbing furniture and slides at the park and making a break for the outside world at Target. Oh, sure, sometimes gravity got in my way or a wall punched me in the face, but mostly it’s been smooth sailing.

So anyway, I really am sorry if you felt like I loved you less. I thought about writing to you often, but then there was a ball I needed to chase, or a kitty I’m sure needed my love, or a container I needed to fill with something.

Today I’m writing you to tell you about The Invaders. Diary, I’m concerned. Mama keeps letting them come into our house. The doggies think they’re ok, but they also think eating cat poop is pretty awesome so I’m not sure how much I trust their judgement anymore. The Invaders come in the morning, and they travel in pairs and groups. Diary – they make me do things.

The first time they came, it was no big deal. They wanted me to stack some blocks and show them where to put a circle in a puzzle and stuff like that. I don’t know when adults got so lazy that they figured toddlers should do their work for them, but there it is. I schooled them. But then they came back again after the snow was gone and when I SHOULD have been playing outside and Diary I won’t lie – I was mad. Really mad. They wanted me to do their work for them again and damn it Diary I didn’t want to. Put Cheerios in a water bottle and dump them out? Stack the same four stupid blocks? Show you the sun in a Baby Bop book? UGH. So I did the only reasonable thing: I threw all their toys on the floor and I yelled for mama to hug me so I could pet her hair to make me feel less mad. And after that I cooperated a bit but only because I was on mama’s lap. The Invaders always leave after a while, Diary, but this time they sent back different Invaders.

The Invaders that came last week seemed more ok. They arrived while I was playing outside and I pointed them out to mama to warn her. She seemed friendly with them so I thought it would be ok if they came inside. These Invaders came into the living room and one sat on the floor with me. I had to hide behind the couch for a few minutes and watch her like a hunter stalking prey, but Diary she had some pretty cool toys. In the end I came out and played with her. I guess she doesn’t have friends her own age. Some of her games were stupid, like putting a plastic baby in a bucket disguised as a fake bathtub. What that bucket really needed was balls, so I started gathering all of my balls and putting them in there. The Invader kept taking the balls out, and she even put HER balls away. She obviously didn’t understand the correct order of things. Diary, I gently corrected her by putting her balls back in the bucket six times until she gave up and put her fake bathtub away entirely.

Mama barely paid me any attention the whole time because she was talk-talk-talking with the other Invader. I went over a couple of times to pet her so she’d know I was still there. I didn’t want her to worry, you know?

When she finally finished talking, and the other Invader had packed up her toys, both of The Invaders put on their Serious Grownup Faces. Then I knew I’d get bored so I went and got the iPad to play some Mr. Potato Head – that guy is hilarious. I sort of listened to what The Invaders said to mama. Most of it was BLAH BLAH BLAH, but then I heard them tell her something really important:

Finn is awesome. Except they said it wrong (why do grownups get everything wrong?).

Finn has autism.

And then, Diary, something great happened – mama made me lunch, and we took a nap.

11 responses

  1. Finn, you are so adorable and you know what? Those Invaders might have said a different word, but you were right the first time. You are awesome. So very awesome. So keep hugging and petting your Momma, and give her a few for me too pretty please, and know that the Invaders are the good guys and you’re gonna grow to love them, probably almost as much as we love you.

  2. Finn, you are SO awesome. Thank you for sharing your story about The Invaders and I hope you share more stories soon. No matter what I think you rock and i wish you many more Good Things Happening. xoxo

  3. Finn, I agree with absolutely everything Laura said.you continue to show those invaders all that you know. I think you will both learn a lot from each other. do me a favor and give your momma an extra hug (or ten) from me. Love you to pieces, Finn!

  4. Finn, that was a lovely part of your ‘story’ to tell us. And you did it in only your ‘Finn-like way”. (Maybe some day you and Mommy should write a book). You have such a way with words, and mom will help if you hig her and love her and stroke her hair. It’s a ‘gift ‘to write this as you see it. Thanks for sharing, Finn. Grammie and Papa love you very much. (And your mom & dad, too.)

  5. I know how you feel Finn, I’m an “invader” so I know it’s hard to help kids see things in different ways. But because I’m an invader I also know that our kids do change; they do learn and they grow and they make us laugh and be happy every single day. And we love every single child that we get to spend time with.
    I wish I were your “invader” Finn. I would consider the opportunity to work with you to be a very special gift.
    Tell your mom that she can talk to me any time.

  6. Finn, you are completely, totally, and wonderfully AWESOME! I know the invaders were probably scary, and didn’t know half as much as you know, but you seemed to handle their visits quite well. Continue to bring your family joy, continue to shine your awesomeness everywhere you go, and be your wonderful self! The world needs more awesome! 🙂

  7. Finn, you are a awesome miracle in our family! You are my grandson of many faces, so many expressions……all of which brighten my days! I know the Invaders will help you express yourself verbally, so you can tell us about all your wonderful adventures! Emma, what a wonderful way you have shared this with us….you showed the world how love works.

  8. Finn, you are the awesomer to your Mommy’s awesome!!! And between you and me, with your Mommy behind you…you will spread your wings and fly! Love from Becky’s mom..

Leave a Reply

